My 50 favorite albums

Inspired by who knows what devilry, the I Love Music forum exploded to life overnight as longtime posters published their 30 or 50 favorite albums. What it improved, after I’d glanced at a half dozen lists, is that ILM has (un)predictably eclectic tastes. I published a version of this list in 2015; this version reflects updates. Ask me again in five years.

1. Prince – Controversy
2. Jorge Ben Jor – África Brasil
3. Bryan Ferry/Roxy Music – Street Life: 20 Great Hits
4. Public Image Ltd – Second Edition
5. Ghostface Killah – Supreme Clientele
6. Peter Gabriel – So
7. Aaliyah – Aaliyah
8. Electronic – Electronic
9. Alexander O’Neal – Hearsay
10. Sleater-Kinney – The Hot Rock
11. Rosanne Cash – King’s Record Shop
12. Steely Dan – Gaucho
13. Pet Shop Boys – Please
14. Aretha Franklin – Spirit in the Dark
15. René & Angela – Street Called Desire
16. Maxwell – BLACKsummers’night
17. Wire – The A List
18. The Cure – The Head on the Door
19. A Tribe Called Quest – The Low End Theory
20. The Go-Betweens – Oceans Apart
21. Change – The Glow of Love
22. DJ Quik – The Book of David
23. Joni Mitchell – Hejira
24. Suede – Dog Man Star
25. Everything But The Girl – Walking Wounded
26. Kylie Minogue – Fever
27. DJ Sprinkles – Midtown 120 Blues
28. Willie Nelson – Shotgun Willie
29. The B-52’s – Cosmic Thing
30. Psychedelic Furs – Forever Now
31. Garbage – Version 2.0
32. Eno/Cale – Wrong Way Up
33. Duran Duran – Rio
34. Miranda Lambert – The Weight of These Wings
35. Dolly Parton – The Essential Dolly Parton
36. Sugar – Copper Blue
37. The Chills – Submarine Bells
38. Jesse Ware – What’s Your Pleasure?
39. The Human League – Dare
40. Lil Wayne – Tha Carter II
41. Erykah Badu – New Amerykah Part One (4th World War)
42. Amy Grant – Heart in Motion
43. Roisin Murphy – Overpowered
44. 808 State – Ex:el
45. Ice Cube – Amerikkka’s Most Wanted
46. Utah Saints – Utah Saints
47. Sinead O’Connor – I Do Not Want What I Haven’t Got
48. Jazmine Sullivan- Reality Show
49. Gilberto Gil – Expresso 2222
50. Miles Davis – Get Up With It

7 thoughts on “My 50 favorite albums

  1. Oh sheez- Some of yours overlaps so I want to extend mine to others that I think are unknown to english citics, underrated, downgraded or not-so-mentioned or directly forgotten; whatever. I still listening and give me a great joy. I could triple this. Out of the tip of my hat and in no order:

    . Rickie Lee Jones – Pirates
    . Pretenders . Singles
    . Mano Negra . Casa Babylon
    . Novos Baianos. Acabou Chorare
    . Steely Dan . Countdown to Ectasy
    . Caetano Veloso. Cores, Nomes
    . Charly Garcia . Yendo de la cama al living
    . Virus . Locura
    . Pj Harvey . To Bring You My Love
    . Bjork. Vespertine
    . Joe Jackson . Night and Day
    . Jorge Ben. Jorge Ben – Que Maravilha (Box Set)
    . Talking Heads. Sand In The Vaseline – Popular Favorites 1976-1992
    . Lucinda Williams. Essence
    . Sam Cooke. Live at the Harlem Square Club, 1963

    1. Paulinho da Viola . A Dança da Solidão
      . Joao Bosco. Caça à Raposa
      . Flaming Lips. Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots (laugh haters, If Miyazaki had a sound it would be this)
      . Tom Petty : Full Moon Fever
      . Rita Lee. Fruto Proibido
      . Travelling Wilburys, Vol. 1
      . Tanita Tikaram. Ancient Heart
      . Madonna. Erotica
      . John Coltrane . A Love Supreme
      . Brazil Classics 1: Beleza Tropical
      . Stevie Wonder. At the Close of a Century (Box Set)
      . Milton Nascimento & Lo Borges . Clube da Esquina
      . Djavan. Luz
      . Tropicália: ou Panis et Circencis
      . Tribalistas
      . Los Abuelos de la Nada . Vasos y besos
      . Café Tacvba. Avalancha de exitos

  2. Amy Grant? There has to be a story behind that. I never would have expected to see a CCM album on your list.

    1. Me too. She’s actually a pretty decent person for a CCM artist and relatively progressive in some of her actions.

  3. A great list! I share 16 of those and I’m “well chuffed” to see that you and I share opinion on the best Prince album! One that few fans cite, to my astonishment. The first time I scanned the list, I forgot that I also have “Utah Saints!” Whoops. And in spite of my many Go-Betweens albums, I still don’t have that one. And you shame me as I still don’t have any Jorgé Ben! Though the best album in there just might be the astonishing “Overpowered” by Róisín Murphy! I bought her debut album, “Ruby Blue,” after liking her Pulp cover B-side on the “Bad Cover Version” single and loved it. So when I saw “Overpowered” in the used bins, I bought it without hesitation. W-o-w!! That album should have been the new “Thriller,” only with much better songs! What went wrong there???!!

Leave a comment