Ranking #1 singles, U.S. edition: 1992-1993

My patrons know I value singers whose ability to sound like you or me or any person not graced with outstanding musical talent matches a song’s intelligence. Vanessa Williams taught me this lesson early, for Helen Reddy had long since faded into footnotes. Baited with a once-in-a-lifetime pairing of Phil Galdston, Wendy Waldman, and Jon Lind’s melody and lyrics, Williams fills in an admittedly absurd scenario: a woman who, like the protagonist of a forties flick starring Susan Hayward or something, takes back an errant husband after he’s realized the extent of his mortal sin. But Williams’ swoops (“Isn’t this world a CRAAAAZZZZY PLAAACE!”) and way of caressing words a syllable at a time like a worried non-pro redeem it.

But in February-March 1992 I was quite alone as a high school senior: my bros preferred “I’m Too Sexy” and “Baby Got Back” and, later, “Jump.” I liked them all, but Williams spoiled me for the next eighteen months. Mariah Carey entered her most insufferable phase, Boyz II Men lost interest in speed, and, well, Whitney Houston was busy blasting the paint from aircraft carriers.

I’m curious what my readers think of “Informer” now.

The Hague

The Heights – How Do You Talk to an Angel
Boyz II Men – End of the Road
Peabo Bryson and Regina Belle – A Whole New World
UB40 – Can’t Help Falling in Love
Mariah Carey – Hero

Meh

Snow – Informer
Mariah Carey – Dreamlover
Janet Jackson – Again
Mr. Big – To Be with You
Whitney Houston – I Will Always Love You

Sound, Solid

Right Said Fred – I’m Too Sexy
George Michael and Elton John – Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me
Color Me Badd – All 4 Love
Silk – Freak Me
Madonna – This Used to Be My Playground
Mariah Carey featuring Trey Lorenz – I’ll Be There
Billy Ray Cyrus – Achy Breaky Heart

Good to Great

Vanessa Williams – Save the Best for Last
Kriss Kross – Jump
Janet Jackson – That’s the Way Love Goes
Meat Loaf – I’d Do Anything for Love (But I Won’t Do That)
Sir Mix-a-Lot – Baby Got Back
SWV – Weak

Leave a comment