Ranking #1 singles, U.S. edition: 1991

The greatest pure pop year since 1984 also saw the biggest chart convulsions: Soundscan wrought its magic first on the album chart in late spring before a November debut. This didn’t stop a motley crew not Mötley Crüe from unfurling bat shit flags we didn’t see again that decade. After a dull hangover-ish start, 1991 saw Londonbeat take African high life guitars to the top, Madonna moan ghostwritten smut over “Security of the First World,” EMF write an instant car commercial, and Prince do T. Rex. Freestyle ballads still showed an annoying tendency to outpace their friskier predecessors, though Timmy T took a sound I hadn’t heard since 1985 into American homes, such that a terrific hetero dude in theater with me remarked, after noticing my revulsion, “Listen, if chicks start crying over this shit, you respect it.” I didn’t and don’t respect “Rush Rush,” but listen: Paula Abdul got that non-voice over a C-level Dusty Springfield string section despite everyone’s objections, yet it resulted in better diabetes fare than Bryan Adams’ calorie-free Robin Hood ballad. You know the film — where Kevin Costner’s accent is as steady as George Bush’s commitment to taxes and an Alan Rickman-Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio rape scene gets played for laffs.

Finaly, some artists used 1991 as platform. Taking careful notes about public perception of her image, Janet Jackson took a seventh record-setting top five hit to the top with the help of Herb Ritts, a move helped by the concomitant reemergence of Chris Isaak’s even hotter (to me; bear with me) “Wicked Game.”

The Hague

Paula Abdul – Rush Rush
Surface – The First Time
Bryan Adams – (Everything I Do) I Do It for You
Michael Bolton – When a Man Loves a Woman

Meh

Gloria Estefan – Coming Out of the Dark
Color Me Badd – I Adore Mi Amor
Whitney Houston – All the Man That I Need
Mariah Carey – I Don’t Wanna Cry
Wilson Phillips – You’re in Love

Sound, Solid

Michael Jackson – Black or White
Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch ft. Loleatta Holloway – Good Vibrations
C+C Music Factory ft. Freedom Williams – Gonna Make You Sweat (Everybody Dance Now)
Madonna – Justify My Love
Mariah Carey – Emotions
EMF – Unbelievable
Paula Abdul – The Promise of a New Day
Karyn White – Romantic
Hi-Five – I Like the Way (The Kissing Game)
Timmy T – One More Try
Extreme – More Than Words

Good to Great

PM Dawn – Set Adrift on Memory Bliss
Londonbeat – I’ve Been Thinking About You
Janet Jackson – Love Will Never Do (Without You)
Amy Grant – Baby Baby
Prince and the New Power Generation – Cream
Mariah Carey – Someday
Roxette – Joyride

One thought on “Ranking #1 singles, U.S. edition: 1991

  1. A great year made better for the array of great songs I remember that dos not make this list. The last great year for me. At least for the 90s. And allow me to be skeptical about soundscan. Yes, it permitted those hip hop singles to shows the actual changes. It also allowed a songs like Macarena remix to be number one for 3 years. Accurate but also BORiNG .

Leave a comment