Ranking Beatles singles 1964-1965

During a top ten reign that produced a top five lockdown unduplicated until Ariana Grande gave it a try in February, The Beatles released no singles dreadful enough to qualify for Hague recommendation while Grande has contender “7 Rings” (take that!).

Still underrated: the Beatles’ rhythm section, its foundation as confident about settling as a new office building.

Rated just right: the word play, learned from Smokey Robinson among others, dependent on inversions so simple that of course no one thought of them before. “Don’t care too much for money/Cuz money can’t buy me love” — boom.

Underrated: the Lennon-McCartney vocal leaps gleaned from thousands of hours playing the Shirelles and other girl groups live. Maybe the Everly Brothers were doing what Lennon did with c’mon, and him and McCartney with ooh yeah on “Please Please Me.”

Meh

P.S. I Love You
Eight Days a Week

Sound, Solid Entertainment

I Feel Fine
Yesterday
She’s a Woman
Can’t Buy Me Love
Love Me Do
Do You Want to Know a Secret?
She Loves You

Good to Great

A Hard Day’s Night
I Want to Hold Your Hand
Please Please Me
Twist and Shout
Help!
Ticket to Ride

5 thoughts on “Ranking Beatles singles 1964-1965

  1. Yesterday, to me, is what Hey Jude is to you. Or what Let it Be is to BOTH: a melody lifted from the Macca kindergarten’s book of chords progression. I like it’s not a medley, he he. I don’t like “Hold Your Hand” either. I prefer the insouciant harmonica blues of Love Me Do. That harmonica still sends chills on my spine. Delta blues by way of London… they could have followed the Stones!
    I love She Loves Me. The only yeah yeah song I like of them. Twist and Shout I prefer the Isley Brothers version (in my list) but it’s ok. Hard Day’s Night, Help and, especially, Ticket to Ride are pop Masterpieces. That’s that.

    I wonder where’s I Saw Her Standing There, the other early single of theirs I have in my list. That rocks!!

    1. Meh

      Do You Want to Know a Secret?
      P.S. I Love You
      Eight Days a Week
      Yesterday

      Sound, Solid Entertainment

      I Feel Fine
      She’s a Woman
      Can’t Buy Me Love
      I Want to Hold Your Hand
      Please Please Me

      Good to Great

      Ticket to Ride
      Help!
      A Hard Day’s Night
      I Saw Her Standing There
      Love Me Do
      She Loves You
      Twist and Shout

  2. Not to mention Yesterday is Macca first attempt at schmaltz. Another Day, his early solo single is ten times better. So much going on there!

      1. Oh, sure. But “Yesterday”‘s spareness only make its sentimental lyrics shine brighter. And not in a good way. There’s nothing there, except the melody (and not a good one to my ears). It’s a kidergarten guitar-plucked melody. Chord progression for beguinners, Vol. 1.
        For streamlined Macca’s melodies I think I like two kinds: what he did with the strings section in “Eleanor Rigby”; that’s really evocative and earns its sadness. Embellishments that work. The other kind is the Macca school of R&B belters: “We Can Work it Out”, with its Motown-like percussion and fabulous bridge and “Oh Darling”, which allows him to strech his pipes to ecstatic proportions (Maybe I’m Amazed, indeed). I think the Hey Jude coda belongs in this category, too. It’s too long, sure. It’s got soul to spare, too. So does the whole of Let it Be, but it’s Yesterday just with piano and longer. No Hey Jude number 2. So I pass on that one.
        “Another Day”, with its (clever) galloping percussion belongs in the former category It’s deceptively simple. It’s anything but. And by the time the “so sad” bridge kicks in, its sadness is earned and really unexpected- No medleys necessary.
        But, for some reason, he believed he would be more “respected” by repeating his achievements in the second side of Abbey Road. Meaning, let’s do medleys to death so they think I’m “complex”. Bullshit. He lived by absurd medleys even into “Band On the Run”.
        Macca is pleasurable to me when 1) He makes simplicity with no bullshit lyrics. Not medleys necessary (proof: “Blackbird”) 2) Adds interesting percussion or embellish his simplicity when he really puts to work his ample bass chops (“Another Day” it’s one of his best bass works imo, and it’s a ballad!) No medleys necessary, either. I think I made my point he should have left medleys alone after Abbey Road, didn’t I? They don’t work it out. Not for me. I always found then forced. And some really are truly ridiculous.

Leave a comment