Ranking Rod Stewart albums 1970-1978

I have a lot to say about Rod Stewart’s career, but let me confine to his salad years. Confession: I haven’t heard An Old Raincoat Won’t Let You Down, aka The Rod Stewart Album. But I like 1981’s Tonight I’m Yours too.

1. Every Picture Tells a Story (1971)

So much depends on “Maggie May.” More depends on “Mandolin Wind,” the frail, almost Imagist-indebted original composition included on Rod Stewart’s breakthrough album. “Like so many of this period’s key songs, it is patient, happy to stop and start, to pause and consider,” Marcello Carlin wrote in his re-appraisal. The tension between the unnamed mandolin player and Ron Wood and Martin Quittenton’s guitars relaxes whenever Stewart turns to the chorus, as if for warmth. That same sense of ramshackle eternity powers the title track. I said in my Gasoline Alley entry that Micky Waller plays drums like they’re a lead guitar; this applies to “Every Picture Tells a Story,” an AOR staple that has never outgrown its usefulness, thanks to which and a dramatic cover of the Temptations’ “(I Know) I’m Losing You” I almost believe that Woody squandered talents by becoming Keith Richards’ drinking buddy. As for “Maggie May,” I can think of few original things to write except (a) in the era of the reaction to #MeToo no male singer can get away with what Stewart does in his song; (b) he loathes that he loves her, can’t imagine himself tumbling into such abjectness again, won’t let himself tumble, hence the career replete with sequels to Blondes Have More Fun. Yet he can’t bring himself to hate her. He hates himself, not her. That’s how much Stewart’s vocal suggests.

2. Gasoline Alley (1970)

Perhaps it speaks to my lack of sophistication, but I’m a sucker for singers who follow, often note for note, the melodies picked by guitars or played by pianists. Stewart does it on the title track. It creates vulnerability, as if the melody were a handrail. The other characteristic of this wonderful record is how Micky Waller, in the Keith Moon tradition, uses his drums as a second lead guitar; the Womack cover, “It’s All Over Now,” is a collection of rolls that matches the uneasy stew of resentment and euphoria in Stewart’s vocal. The triumph is “Lady Day,” a masterpiece of rue in which Ron Wood’s bottleneck guitar, as hyperactive as Waller’s drums on other tracks, can’t stop squawking as Stewart inches toward an admission it’s difficult to believe from the vantage point of a high schooler acquainted with “Crazy About Her”: “I get scared when I remember too much.” And I’m liberal about that sort of thing.

3. Never a Dull Moment (1972)

Bored with Greil Marcus’ mantra about the unassailability of Rod Stewart through the Nixon re-election, I asked him in 2007 during what was then called the EMP Pop Conference if he liked anything Stewart recorded after 1972. He replied, “Never been a millionaire/And I tell you mama I don’t care,” quoting “True Blue,” the opening track on Stewart’s EPTAS follow-up. He betrayed his confession, he said. An eighties kid who grew up watching Stewart in flower pot hair and spandex wailing about love touches and Baby Janes and his slatternly heart, I didn’t understand the purity, especially when the eternal “Young Turks” wants a word with him. Raucous and representing only a slight diminution of energy and inspiration, Never a Dull Moment has the “Maggie May” rewrite “You Wear It Well,” several good Ron Wood rocker co-writes. The killer: a cover of Etta James’ “I’d Rather Go Blind.”

4. A Night on the Town (1976)

So what if “The Killing of Georgie (Part I and II)” lifts the soul girls from “Walk on the Wild Side” and the melody from Dylan’s “A Simple Twist of Fate”? That’s the point. T.S. Eliot, y’all! I can’t imagine the impact of this self-written show of empathy on gay men in 1976, doubly so coming from one of the biggest and most rakish of rock stars; Stewart places the emphasis on “Georgie was a friend of mine,” and that’s what counts. The rest is a curate’s egg soaked in bourbon. My older readers may like “Tonight’s the Night (Gonna Be Alright)” more than I do, and symmetry required that Stewart followed this grossness draped in sensitivity with a dainty number called “The Balltrap.”

5. Atlantic Crossing (1975)

“Sailing,” a cover of a Sutherland Brothers song, turned into a massive UK hit, yet, like Paul McCartney & Wings’ “Mull of Kintyre” two years later it did no business stateside. Odd, too — this moist kitsch was at home in the thick nicotine-stained curtained world of the mid-seventies. To acquiesce to the PR and label this record “Rod Stewart’s farewell to England,” in other words, seems…odd. If he crossed the Atlantic so he could work with the likes of Jesse Ed Davis and Steve Cropper, he fortunately brought with him a couple songs — or, more likely, cobbled them together in the studio — that rock without getting sodden about it. “Three-Time Loser,” for instance, the opening track, still figuring out how to sound post-Faces, post-England (the lyric “jackin’ off reading Playboy on a hot afternoon” does appear, fans); “All In The Name Of Rock’n’Roll,” better than the Stones song with the similar name but not by much. The late Danny Whitten’s “I Don’t Want to Talk About It” gets a poignant reading. It also contains his first version of the Isley Brothers charmer “This Old Heart of Mine,” done better in 1989 with Ron.

6. Footloose and Fancy Free (1977)

The strain of being a hellcat while strumming acoustic would-be charmers showed. The record with “You’re in My Heart (The Final Acclaim)” also has room for the vile “Hot Legs.” On “I Was Only Joking” he explained himself.

7. Smiler (1974)

The home of colorless Goffin-King and Chuck Berry covers, another Elton song (“Let Me Be Your Car” — beep beep beep beep, yeah!), and, of all people to approach, a Paul McCartney castoff called “Mine for Me” given an organ and steel drum arrangement.

8. Blondes Have More Fun (1978)

When I heard this bottom feeder of a record two years ago, I expected trashy fun on the order of lead single “Do Ya Think I’m Sexy.” Instead, Stewart and his band served trash like “Is That the Thanks I Get?” and “Hot Weekend” and, worse, “Ain’t Love a Bitch,” which he should’ve titled “Ain’t I an Arsehole” and in which Stewart turns himself into a Drake ancestor. How ’bout this one: “Attractive Female Wanted.” On the slush reggae of “Last Summer,” Rod rasps,  “She purred…like a cat in a Panama hat.” Meow.

22 thoughts on “Ranking Rod Stewart albums 1970-1978

  1. “Perhaps it speaks to my lack of sophistication, but I’m a sucker for singers who follow, often note for note, the melodies picked by guitars or played by pianists” WOW, Alfred. That’s as accurate a description of Rod Stewart as I have ever heard of!

    I still am not totally comfortable in picking “It’s All Over Now”‘s 1974 Womack & Withers’ version over the Stewart one. It’s amazing and BOTH of them so far out the early Rolling Stone’s one! Wasn’t it a single? A B side or something? And why on Earth Stewart decided to release “Handbags and Gladrags” as single instead of “Lady Day”?? Wasn’t he clueless at picking singles? Or the Co. picked for him? I don’t know,,, “Mandolin Wind” should have been one. But the Tim Hardin’r cover of “Reason to Believe” it’s pretty terrific…too. And who cares “You Werat it Well was a “Maggie May” re-write. It’s awesome just the same!

    You are right in this #MeToo Era, he wouldn’t get away with neither “May” nor “Tonight’s the Night”. And I’m not fond either of the latter. I prefer the Janet re-interpretation.

    For the rest, most of all he was doing were the same trick over and over or just plain thievery. Sure, he just keep paying royalties for Jorge Ben’s Africa Brasil’s version of “Taj Mahal” or whitewashed versions of “Downtown Train” or “Have I Told You Lately”. Both Waits and Van Morrison cashing in and I like that!

    Guilty pleasure: His “Top40 whore” phase late into the 80s and early 90s produced the most passionate-singing thing he did since the mid 70s. This may appear as jingoistic kind of thing, but I b-e-l-i-e-v-e every vowel he things off it:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jHRpWQOqe14

    (Or, perhaps, I’m a sucker for bagpipes in a pop song)

  2. Much to my surprise (and horror) a recent poll of hardcore RS fans (of which I am one) placed Blondes at numero uno as the best Rod album of the 70s. For some reason, they absolutely love it. EPTS was second. You failed to mention also that Blondes featured some really awful vocals. That’s something that can’t often be said about Sir Rod. He was in terrible voice.

    The best song on Blondes is the last track, which I always find somehow fitting. Scarred and Scared basically says, “Yeah, I’m still here. The preceding 9:tracks were me just goofing off.” He then would goof off quite a bit in the next decade.

    As for me, I’d switch FL&FF with A/C and call it good. But apart from Blondes, I love them all. (I highly recommend you listen to the debut album. Would fall in the middle of your list, I think.) And yes, Georgie remains in my top 5 Rod songs of all time. Much of Stewart’s best work displays real empathy.

  3. The awfulness of BLONDES came as a shock, and I can’t believe fans regard it as much more than a placeholder for a single they can purchase or stream elsewhere. Have they listened to it?

    1. 😂 oh yes. My best guess is nostalgia. I know I loved it when it came out but I’ll blame that on the fact I was only 14. The track that seems to get the most praise is “Is that the thanks I get.” 🤷‍♂️

      1. I was 7 and even I knew that sucked. Who did he think he was? Donna Summer? And the video he wears the animal print lycra! And the melody of “Sexy” was from the infernal south americans “Carnaval carioca” LP for weddings I knew since I’ve been to one. It was Jorge Ben’s “Taj Mahal” going disco for drunken people, so it was a thief from another more miiserable thief. Lazy AF.

    1. Pe pe, pe pe pe pe. Pe pe, pe pe pe pe. Pe pe, pe pe pe pe. Pe Pee.
      Really, Alfred? It’s so obviouss to me. Here in South America is an open secret since Do Ya Think I’m Sexy came out. EVERBODY hears it.

      It’s like Born Express This Way Yourself obvious!

  4. It’s more than 8 bars with the supression of just one note in Rod’s version. Here’s the explanation of a brazilian musician who replays both on piano. It might be a coincidence, but I don’t think brazilian nusic from the 70s was oblivious to any composer. In fact, Stevie Wonder publicly admitted being inspired from Antonio Carlos & Jocafi’s “Voce Abusou” in the creation of “You Are the Sunshine of My life”. So I don’t think Jorge Ben, who was inmensely popular in SA was as “obscure” as some might say. Perhaps Rod was oblivious, but not the composers of the tune.

    1. I believe Rod flat out used the word plagiarism on the new Dan Rather interview. He’s always admitted he stold it. Depending on the interview, he may say consciously or unconsciously but he was aware of the tune for sure.

  5. Finally, let’s adress the Elephant in the Room: Rod’s brutal weapon, of course, was his voice. A voice so indebted to Sam Cooke it’s scary in its similarity. One of my old time fav albums is “Live at the Harlem Square Club, 1963” and, although it was published like 20 years later, I can’t imagine Rod Stwart NOT being among that joyous crowd. In fact, the first time I heard that record, in some Virgin Store of old, I though it was Stewart making a Cooke live (pun intended)

    1. Often mentioned as Rod’s favorite album of all time. I believe he wrote some album notes for a later edition.

  6. Awesome! Didn’t know that! Although his version of “Twistin the Night Away” should be tellin’ since almost replicate the one in the Sam Cooke’s live album.
    I agree with Elton John when he said that Rod was the best rock singer ever. Well, for ay least his first to fifth album, he might have been (and Faces!). I always believed Sam Cooke was inside him (no pun intended). He had soul to spare.
    That’s why I think his last great performance was “Rythm of My Heart” and not “Downtown Train”. I agree with Alfred about the take on Waits from INSIDE the restaurant, the “social climber” (really clever, Alfred) But I also think the overwhelming sentiment of breakin out that has that song is far superior to his rendition of it. He just falls short of the “epic” sentiment he aimed at. His voice was not really there. It’s just my opinion, of course. Like it felt really strange that “feeling” for him, perhaps. So he just runs through the song Instead of giving it new meaning, “Rhythm”, on the contrary, might actually stirred up some gut feelings from Rod. It’s so impassioned and it is so clearly about “loving home” that I see it as a sort of continuation to “Sailing”. A Hymn to homesickness?. Who can’t relate with those?. I honestly think he kills it there. Whether the song is any good or not, he made it interesting, at least, something that woudn’t had happened to me with him since looong time ago (and never since) And “Vagabond Heart “should replace “Blondes” in the list, frankly:))

    As for the Jorge Ben plagiarism, I wouldn’t mind if that disco smash were better than “Taj Mahal”. I believe in “song doctoring”. I’ve said that here too many times. I vastly prefer the earnest but tender “Fight Test” to the earnest but solemn “Father and Son”. And still, I believe Wayne Coyne is paying duties to whatever Cat Stevens’ name is at the moment. The problem is… “Sexy” still sucks (to me). It’s like YMCA: funny to dance to. But I don’t wanna talk about it (pun intended) So I stick to Ben’s, I guess. The Master of Samba Funk against a “disco pretender”? C’mon!

Leave a comment