Songs about suicide

On the menu tonight I see raspberry rugelach and a martini, not suicide, but after listening to “1-800 Suicide” for the first time in fifteen years it reminded me of how art can uplift. This list also includes songs about characters whose deeds led to unintended deaths, including ODs.

1. The Notorious B.I.G. – Suicidal Thoughts
2. George Jones – The Boot
3. Soundgarden – Like Suicide
4. The Replacements – The Ledge
5. Lil Wayne – I Feel Like Dying
6. Kix – Don’t Close Your Eyes
7. Pere Ubu – Final Solution
8. Lucinda Williams – Sweet Old World
9. The Smiths – I Know It’s Over
10. Joy Division – Decades
11. Johnny Cash – Hurt
12. U2 – A Day Without Me
13. Lana Del Rey – Summertime Sadness
14. Elton John – I Think I’m Going to Kill Myself
15. Pete Rock & CL Smooth – They Reminisce Over You
16. Rilo Kiley – A Better Son/Daughter
17. Billie Holiday – Gloomy Sunday
18. Gravediggaz – 1-800 Suicide
19. R.E.M. – Everybody Hurts
20. Brad Paisley ft. Alison Krauss – Whiskey Lullaby
21. Kendrick Lamar – u
22. Frank Sinatra – When No One Cares
23. Kehlani – Gangsta
24. Third Eyed Blind – Jumper
25. Crowded House – Hole in the River
26. David Bowie – You Feel So Lonely You Could Die
27. Marsha Ambrosius – Far Away
28. The National – Sorrow
29. OutKast – Da Art of Storytellin’ (Part 1)
30. Jay Z ft Beanie Sigel and Scarface – This Can’t Be Life

Leave a comment