Hey baby we like your pants: Best of Iggy Pop + the Stooges

david-bowie-iggy-pop-1977

Many aging people experience the waning of their interest in chaos. Not me. I heard Fun House for the first time since 2001 last week and was more appreciative of its barrage than in my twenties. When I remembered songs for this list, I stopped and reread it — these are amazing tunes and performances, filled to surfeit with observations and weird asides. I stopped caring after 1990, but I don’t have much in the way of solo material between New Values and Blah Blah Blah, both of which are better than you remember.

1. TV Eye
2. I Wanna Be Your Dog
3. Loose
4. Sister Midnight
5. 1970
6. No Fun
7. Funtime
8. L.A. Blues
9. Search and Destroy
10. Down on the Street.
11. I’m Bored
12. Dum Dum Boys
13. Success
14. Shades
15. Raw Power
16. Dirt
17. Well Did You Evah! (w/Debbie Harry)
18. Mass Production
19. The Endless Sea
20. I’m Bored
21. Some Weird Sin
22. The Passenger
23. Knocking ‘Em Down (In the City)
24. Tonight
25. Repo Man
24. Candy ft. Kate Pierson
25. Death Trip

Leave a comment