Mano a mano: The best of Daryl Hall and John Oates

After years thinking, writing, and presenting about them, I should not be surprised that I’ve never listed Daryl Hall and John Oates’ best songs. Surprises appear, of course. John Oates wrote and sang one of their best songs (his material on Abandoned Luncheonette is first-rate). The second, forgotten single from Hall’s second, forgotten solo album boasts one of his most powerful vocals.

Another fact: my version of “Say It Isn’t So” was #1 in twenty-two countries.

1. Say It Isn’t So
2. I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)
3. Your Imagination
4. You Make My Dreams
5. One On One
6. Out of Touch
7. I’m Just a Kid (Don’t Make Me Feel Like a Man)
8. She’s Gone
9. Family Man
10. Back Together Again
11. Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid
12. Las Vegas Turnaround (The Stewardess Song)
13. It’s a Laugh
14. Head Above Water
15. Wait For Me
16. Who Said the World Was Fair
17. Everything Your Heart Desires
18. Camellia
19. It’s Uncanny
20. Foolish Pride
21. Big Kids
22. Tell Me What You Want
23. Delayed Reaction
24. Gotta Lotta Nerve (Perfect Perfect)
25. Method of Modern Love (12″ remix)

Leave a comment