Singles 2010-2014

Beyonce-Love-On-Top-036

When I compiled my favorite albums from 2010-2014 last week, I wouldn’t have known that women would dominate this list of my favorite singles released during the same period. I tried as usual to avoid singles whose albums made last week’s list unless these songs generated their own unstoppable momentum. My biggest surprise: the degree to which a year’s worth of radio play made OneRepublic’s electro-Mumford anthem very necessary (even Greil Marcus says so!).

In no order:

Azealia Banks – 212
Paramore – Ain’t It Fun
Future – Same Damn Time
Miguel – Adorn
Sade – Soldier of Love
Mariah Carey ft. Miguel – #Beautiful
Todd Terje – Inspector Norse
Sevyn Streeter ft. Chris Brown – It Won’t Stop (Remix)
Classix – Hanging Gardens
Nicki Minaj ft. 2 Chainz – Beez in the Trap
Martina McBride – Wrong Baby Wrong
Beyonce – Love on Top
Japandroids – The House That Heaven Built
Kelly Clarkson ft. Vince Gill – Don’t Rush
Robyn – Dancing On My Own
Javier Mena – Piedra de Luz de Luna
Santigold – The Keepers
Holy Ghost! – Wait and See
Carly Rae Jepsen – Call Me Maybe
Angel Haze – New York
Eric Church – Springsteen
Migos ft. Young Thug – YRN
Jazmine Sullivan – Mascara
Taylor Swift – Blank Space
Chairlift – I Belong In Your Arms
OneRepublic – Counting Stars
Mykki Blanco – Wavvy
Rick Ross – B.M.F.
Rihanna – Diamonds
Robin Thicke – Love After War
Haim – If I Could Change Your Mind
Tim McGraw – The One That Got Away
Lady Gaga – Alejandro
Ledisi – I Blame You
Usher – Climax
Dierks Bentley – 5-1 5-0
Britney Spears – Till The World Ends
Beach House – Myth
Chief Keef ft. Lil Reese – I Don’t Like
Solange – Losing You
Kylie Minogue – Get Outta My Way
Kira Isabella – Quarterback
Le1f – Wut
Kiesza – Giant in My Heart
ASAP Rocky – Purple Swag
Gary Allan – Pieces
Brantley Gilbert – Bottoms Up
M.I.A. – XXXO
Schoolboy Q – Man of the Year
Ke$ha – Tik Tok
Tinashe ft. Schoolboy Q – 2 On

2 thoughts on “Singles 2010-2014

  1. yet more evidence of the mystery of music. How could someone so open-minded and intelligent in other areas of critical analysis listen and like such uninspired, insincere dreck?

Leave a comment