The best Beatles songs by Paul McCartney

Having done my part showcasing his solo years in several places, I turn to the period when he worked as composer, singer, and bassist for what mate George Harrison called his other band. I don’t mind McCartney playing the sap: John Lennon had as many, which is to say, not many. I prefer him when he allows ambivalence to tint his vocal and darken his bass (“Things We Said Today,” “I’ve Just Seen a Face”). When he’s horny he’s better (“All My Loving,” “Drive My Car”). When he’s mean he’s best (“Another Girl,” “You Never Give Me Your Money”).

Quite a few pre-1965 numbers pop up here. I don’t listen to Pepper much, the Magical Mystery Tour and Yellow Submarine collections sounds vague if not confused; it’s as if he’s writing anthems for imaginary stadiums (“Magical Mystery Tour”). And today “The Fool on the Hill” is holding a gun to my head, demanding in a fey voice that I surrender my cerebral cortex. Paul doesn’t need it. He’s always been sensible.

1. Things We Said Today
2. And I Love Her
3. I Saw Her Standing There
4. For No One
5. I’m Down
6. All My Loving
7. She Came In Through the Bathroom Window
8. I Will
9. Another Girl
10. Every Little Thing
11. I’ve Just Seen a Face
12. Two of Us
13. Drive My Car
14. Got To Get You Into My Life
15. Getting Better
16. You Never Give Me Your Money
17. Back in the U.S.S.R.
18. Lady Madonna
19. Blackbird
20. Can’t Buy Me Love

Leave a comment