Come through the block, in the brand new Benz: Ranking Pazz & Jop’s 2006 albums

The kids loved TV on the Radio, the olds loved Bobby D. Me, I played the Journey Into Paradise comp all summer and followed it up with Scritti Politti’s White Bread Black Beer. I haven’t moved an inch. But I love Fishscale enough to reaffirm that Ghostface was the 2000s best album artist. And despite my aversion to whey-voiced singers, Hot Chip released a whey-voiced indie-dance minor classic in The Warning.

I rank the first thirty.

The Hague

The Decemberists – The Crane Wife
Bruce Springsteen – We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions

Meh

TV on the Radio – Return to Cookie Monster
Gnarls Barkley – St Elsewhere
Cat Power – The Greatest

Sound, Solid

Arctic Monkeys – Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not
Yo La Tengo – I Am Not Afraid Of You And I Will Beat Your Ass
Rosanne Cash – Black Cadillac
Justin Timberlake – FutureSex/Lovesounds
Ne-Yo – In My Own Words
Tom Waits – Orphans: Brawlers, Bawlers & Bastards
Belle and Sebastian – The Life Pursuit
Dixie Chicks – Taking the Long Way
The Hold Steady – Boys and Girls in America
Ornette Coleman – Sound Grammar

Good to Great

Ghostface – Fishscale
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Show Yr Bones
Bob Dylan – Modern Times
T.I. – King
Jenny Lewis – Rabbit Fur Coat
Hot Chip – The Warning
Clipse – Hell Hath No Fury
Sonic Youth – Rather Ripped
J. Dilla – Donuts
Knife – Silent Shout

The Jury’s Out

The Raconteurs – Broken Boy Soldiers
Band of Horses – Everything All the Time

Leave a comment