I was just frontin’: Best Pharrell productions

Re-listening to the Kelis and Ludacris tracks on my list, I thought, “Holy shit, the early 2000s sound as date stamped as Nick Rhodes stabbing his Emulator on ‘Hungry Like the Wolf.'” So long as he confines the falsetto to brief punctuative bursts, Pharrell is a welcome presence on singles, an expert synthesist of Bad-era Michael Jackson and Charlie Wilson’s crunchy-brittle bed of percussion and funk guitar. I don’t like “Frontin'” or most N.E.R.D records — he sounds like an expert mimic of a mosquito orbiting a candle wick. At worst he’s a Pied Piper, leading human resources conventions in singalongs that the proles in 1984 would have relished.

1. Kelis – Milkshake
2. Britney Spears – I’m a Slave 4 u
3. Clipse – Mr. Me Too
4. Ol’ Dirty Bastard ft. Kelis – Got Your Money
5. Kendrick Lamar – Good Kid
6. Justin Timberlake ft. Clipse – Like I Love You
7. Snoop Dogg feat. Pharrell – Drop It Like It’s Hot
8.Beyonce – Blow
9. Mystikal feat. Pharrell – Shake Ya Ass
10. Guru feat. Kelis – Supa Love
11. Pharrell feat. Gwen Stefani – Can I Have It Like That
12. Justin Timberlake – Senorita
13. N.E.R.D. – She Wants To Move
14. Jennifer Hudson ft. T.I. – I Can’t Describe (The Way I Feel)
15. Angie Stone ft. Pusha T – Everyday
16. Mase feat. Puff Daddy- Lookin’ At Me
17. Ludacris – Southern Hospitality
18. Usher – U Don’t Have to Call
19. Brtney Spears – Boys
20. N’ Sync feat. Nelly – Girlfriend
21. Nelly – Hot in Herre
22. Jay-Z – I Just Wanna Love U
23. Frank Ocean – Pink + White
24. SWV – Right Here (Human Nature Mix)
25. Busta Rhymes ft. Diddy – Pass the Courvoisier Pt. III

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

