‘Cuidado Madame’ — Arto Lindsay’s refusal to chill

I learned about Arto Lindsay from reading Robert Christgau’s “Unlikely Samba,” collected in Grown Up All Wrong. Mundo Civilizado would never have topped my album list in 1997, but I can understand a person’s attachment to the skill with which Lindsay mates the chordal structures and delicate melodies of tropicalia and drums ‘n’ bass. In my first contribution to Pitchfork, I reviewed Cuidado Madame, his first album in thirteen years and one of 2017s most delightful and surprising. I need to check out Noon Chill.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

