He didn’t know: the best of Randy Newman

Don’t let my list fool you: Don Henley singing “Bless The Children of the World” is the greatest joke this jokester ever pulled; the only way he could’ve topped is by roping Mick Jagger into singing a verse on “We Are the World.” As I’ve aged, I’ve gotten used to the tension between his vaudeville voice and the verbal and musical ironies in his material, although I’ll still take Zevon.

1. Sail Away
2. Rednecks
3. It’s the Money That Matters
4. Louisiana 1927
5. You Can Leave Your Hat On
7. I Want You to Hurt Like I Do
8. I Think It’s Going to Rain Today”
9. Birmingham
10. Mama Told Me (Not to Come)
11. Marie
12. Lonely at the Top
13. In Germany Before the War
14. You’ve Got a Friend in Me
15. Feels Like Home
16. A Few Words in Defense of Our Country
17. I’m Dead (But I Don’t Know It)
18. Lines in the Sand
19. Bless The Children of the World
20. Short People

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

