Best disco singles

I’m not Tom Smucker, Peter Shapiro, or Tim Lawrence — I’m a consumer of disco who has written about its eighties permutation often. At this point it’s as much a cliche to repeat that disco never died as to say disco was blown up at Comiskey Park. My list encompasses its roots to the ease with which it subsumed its trance-inducing electronic elements sometime around 1981, especially when British Blitz kids sunk their ugly teeth into it. Many of these songs are disco-inflected R&B and LA. studio rock; it doesn’t mean you’ll find Nicolette Larson’s “Lotta Love” or Eddie Rabbit here, though.

1. Sylvester – You Make Me Feel (Mighty Real)
2. Change – Paradise
3. Donna Summer – I Feel Love
4. Diana Ross – Love Hangover
5. Loleatta Holloway – Love Sensation
6. Rick James – You & I
7. Blondie – Atomic
8. Boney M – Daddy Cool
9. Sister Sledge – Lost in Music
10. Cerrone – Supernature
11. Evelyn “Champagne” King – Shame
12. The Isley Brothers – I Wanna Be with You
13. Anita Ward – Ring My Bell
14. The Jacksons – Shake Your Body Down to the Ground
15. The Bee Gees – Jive Talkin’
16. Chaka Khan – I’m Every Woman
17. ABBA – Lay All Your Love on Me
18. Smokey Robinson – Open
19. David Bowie – Young Americans
20. Ashford & Simpson – Stay Free
21. Dr. Buzzard’s Original Savannah Band – I’ll Play the Fool
22. The Brothers Johnson – Stomp!
23. L.T.D. – Holding On (When Love Is Gone)
24. Earth Wind & Fire – Let’s Groove
25. Funkadelic – (Not Just) Knee Deep Part 1
26. Chic – My Feet Keep Dancing
27. Lime – Your Love
28. Taana Gardner – Heartbeat
29. Rufus and Chaka – Do You Love What You Feel
30. Patrick Cowley ft. Sylvester – Do You Wanna Funk
31. Yaz – Situation
32. Machine – There For But the Grace of God Go I
33. France Joli – The Heart To Break the Heart
34. Michael Jackson – Get On the Floor
35. Shalamar – The Second Time Around
36. McFadden & Whitehead – Ain’t No Stopping Us Now
37. Rod Stewart – Do Ya Think I’m Sexy?
38. Gloria Gaynor – I Will Survive
39. Thelma Houston – Don’t Leave Me This Way
40. Bill Withers – Lovely Day
41. Village People – YMCA
42. Patrice Rushen – Haven’t You Heard
43. KC and the Sunshine Band – Boogie Shoes
44. Dolly Parton – Baby I’m Burnin’
45. The Ohio Plaers – Love Rollercoaster

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

