‘Part of the reason I supported him was a way to be in the in-crowd for once’

I’ll look like a sneering effete lib for posting the worst responses in Sam Altman’s excerpted conversations wit a hundred Donald Trump supporters because I am one. There is nothing to discuss with these voters, nobody to convince — a concatenation of resentment and envy led them to vote for the con man whose policies, should he get around to signing them into law, will result in the loss of what’s left of their livelihood. I don’t consider this betrayal. It’s a bit like a criminal leaving clues for police because he wants to be caught.

What do you like about Trump?

“It’s a lot like political discussion was in Soviet Union, actually. I think the inability to acknowledge obvious truths, and the ever-increasing scope of these restrictions, makes it particularly frustrating. And personally, for whatever reason, I find inability to have more subtle discussion very frustrating — things are not white or black, but you can’t talk about grays since the politically correct answer is white.”

“I am socially very liberal. I am fiscally very conservative. I don’t feel I have a party — never have. I grew up in a more socially conservative time and picked the “lesser of two evils” during elections. Now, the more socially liberal side supports bigger governments, more aid and support, and that money has to come from somewhere. I see what’s deducted from my check each week. I’m OK with never being rich, but I’d like more security, and that doesn’t come from more government spending.”

“I’m willing to postpone some further social justice progress, which doesn’t really result in loss of life, in favor of less foreign policy involvement, the opposite of which does.”

“Brown people are always the out-crowd. I think subconsciously, part of the reason I supported him was a way to be in the in-crowd for once.”

What do you think about the left’s response so far?

“Stop calling us racists. Stop calling us idiots. We aren’t. Listen to us when we try to tell you why we aren’t. Oh, and stop making fun of us.”

“I’d love to see one-tenth of the outrage about the state of our lives out here that you have for Muslims from another country. You have no idea what our lives are like.”

“I’m so tired of hearing about white privilege. I’m white but way less privileged than a black person from your world. I have no hope my life will ever get any better.”

“The amount of violent attacks and economic attacks perpetrated by the left are troublesome. My wife and I recently moved to the Bay Area. I was expecting a place which was a welcoming meritocracy of ideas. Instead, I found a place where everyone constantly watches everyone else for any thoughtcrime.”

What would convince you not to vote for him again?

“I don’t care if he’s corrupt. Y’all voted for Hillary, and she was the most corrupt candidate of all time.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

