We’ve come too far: Best Nile Rodgers productions post-1980

Despite the repetitiveness of Nile Rodgers’ thin, clattering productions by the late Reagan administration, he nevertheless coaxed superior performances from the artists below, on a few of which with the original Chic. I’ve culled a few of his best from 1980 to 1989. Let me know if I miss something.

1. David Bowie – Modern Love
2. Madonna – Angel
3. Duran Duran – Notorious
4. Jeff Beck ft. Rod Stewart – People Get Ready
5. Diana Ross – I’m Coming Out
6. The B’52s – Roam
7. Grace Jones – I’m Not Perfect (But I’m Perfect for You)
8. INXS – Original Sin
9. Ric Ocasek – Flowers of Evil
10. Al Jarreau – Moonlighting
11. Madonna – Material Girl
12. Laurie Anderson – Language is a Virus
13. Bryan Ferry – Help Me
14. Sheena Easton – Do It For Love
15. Depeche Mode – Route 66 (Remix)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We’ve come too far: Best Nile Rodgers productions post-1980

  1. cja sewell says:

    This is a very interesting list. I would agree with two-thirds of these choices. For me, the glaring omission is the club classic “Why” (12” Mix) with Carly Simon (Chic). I believe that the monster hits “Let’s Dance” and “Wild Boys” deserved to be. And, I’d take “Lay Your Hands” by the Thompson Twins over the Sheena Easton and Depeche Mode any day. Lastly, I’d suggest to much-overlooked “Reach Your Peak” with Sister Sledge (Chic).

    • humanizingthevacuum says:

      Thanks. I can’t get past Carly Simon’s inflexible voice, though.

      • cja sewell says:

        Fair enough. Upon further reflection, I’d also suggest the Chic tracks “Rebel Are We” and “Soup for One” (12″ Mix) and “Skin Trade” by Duran Duran are well worthy of consideration.

Leave a Reply

