Tags

I’ve spent years of my professional life debating the merits of this Oxfordshire quintet. Adept synthesists who introduced fans to Talk Talk, Eno, Magazine, Coltrane, mid ’70s Miles Davis, and Neu!, Radiohead understand dialectics too: their strength is also their weakness, so I can’t imagine a situation in which they fire Thom Yorke, responsible for their advert-indebted lyrics and gnomic agitprop. In the days before Web 2.0, I resisted what I considered the coercion of importance. At the time Clinic and Missy Elliott made more important records. Since 2009, I’ve seen no reason to revise my thinking.

Hence why this list is shorter its cousins. And no — I don’t like “Creep.”

1. There There
2. Paranoid Android
3. Just
4. Idioteque
5. The National Anthem
6. Let Down
7. Knives Out
8. Burn the Witch
9. Nude
10. Jigsaw Falling into Place
11. Everything In Its Right Place
12. No Surprises
13. Weird Fishes/Arpeggi
14. Anyone Can Play Guitar
15. Exit Music (For a Film)
16, Give Up the Ghost
17. 15 Step
18. Airbag
19. A Wolf at the Door
20. Street Spirit (Fade Out)