Tags

Responsible for some of the warmest and goofiest love songs of the last decade, Jens Lekman often inspires no love from listeners. His voice, a wobbly and often flat instrument streaked with dolor, is an acquired taste. Half of my colleagues recoiled from the tropical elements in his new single. “I kinda like it” is all I can write. I had more fun playing Jain and even Rihanna, the latter going for full Winehouse. But save space for Candi Carpenter, responsible for 2017’s first good single.

Click on links for full reviews.

Candi Carpenter – Burn the Bed (7)
Jain – Makeba (7)
Jens Lekman – What’s That Perfume That You Wear? (7)
Sơn Tùng M-TP – Lạc Trôi (7)
S.E.S. – Paradise (6)
Rihanna – Love on the Brain (6)
CupcakKe – LGBT (6)
Kyla La Grange – Justify (6)
Blake Shelton – A Guy With A Girl (6)
Fitz and the Tantrums – HandClap (4)
Day6 – I Wait (4)
JP Cooper – September Song (1)