Tags

I read more than my share of comic books and Choose Your Own Adventure entries, so don’t think I was born holding a Signet Classic copy of The Golden Bowl. Here are the titles that most shaped me as a writer between elementary school and junior high. The National Geographic Picture Atlas of Our World prompted an obsession with colonialism (who conquered whom in the nineteenth century) and geography that replaced my obsession with dinosaurs.

Alexandre Dumas – The Count of Monte Cristo
Louise Fitzhugh – The Long Secret
John Knowles – Peace Breaks Out
Madeleine L’Engle – A Wrinkle in Time
Judy Blume – Then Again, Maybe I Won’t
National Geographic Picture Atlas of Our World
Charlotte Bronte – Jane Eyre
A.C. Crispin – V
Henry James – The Portrait of a Lady
C.S Lewis – The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe