Honey kisses for your lips: The best of Stevie Wonder

How many listeners had copies of Stevie Wonder’s Original Musiquarium I in their cars? Heaven is the pocket between the clavinet and drums in “Higher Ground.” These songs need no notes: thirty-five of the tightest approximations of the sublime in Western music. Two bits of advice: you need the Jungle Fever soundtrack in your life; and 2005’s A Time to Love shows no loss of chops, vocally and instrumentally (“Moon Blue” is the proof). Remember this when you listen to the Ariana Grande-Ryan Tedder collaboration “Faith.”

I’ve updated the list to include collaborations and work for hire. Minnie Ripperton and his work with Syreeta have been among my most played catalog discoveries of the last several years; almost every song on Syreeta deserves mention. I’m also fond of Roberta Flack’s “I Can See the Sun in Late December.” Many of these period tracks take their musical cues from Fulfillingness’ First Finale‘s “Creepin.'”

1. Golden Lady
2. Superstition
3. Visions
4. Boogie On Reggae Woman
5. I Believe (When I Fall in Love)
6. That Girl
7. Big Brother
8. We Can Work It Out
9. Higher Ground
10. All In Love is Fair
11. My Cherie Amour
12. Love’s in Need of Love Today
13. Sir Duke
14. Do I Do
15. Go Home
16. Uptight
17. Did I Hear You Say You Love Me
18. Ebony Eyes
19. Lately
20. Part-Time Lover
21. Outside My Window
22. Skeletons
23. All Day Sucker
24. You Haven’t Done Nuthin’
25. You & I
26. Keep On Runnin’
27. Creepin’
28. For Once In My Life
29. Heaven is a Zillion Light Years Away
30. Rocket
31. Moon Blue
32. Cold Chill
33. Chemical Love
34. Don’t You Worry ‘Bout a Thing
35. Blame It on the Sun

SONGS WRITTEN AND PRODUCED BY OR FEATURING STEVIE WONDER

1. Rufus – Tell Me Something Good
2. Jermaine Jackson – Let’s Get Serious
3. Smokey Robinson and the Miracles – The Tears of a Clown
4. Syreeta – To Know You Is to Love You
5. Aretha Franklin – Until You Come Back to Me
6. Dionne Warwick -Moments Aren’t Moments
7. Minnie Ripperton – Perfect Angel
8. Spinners – We’ll Have It Made
9. Michael Jackson – I Can’t Help It
10. Four Tops – Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever
11. Paul McCartney & Stevie Wonder – What’s That You’re Doin’?
12. Quincy Jones – Betcha’ Wouldn’t Hurt Me
12. Elton John – I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues
13. Roberta Flack – I Can See the Sun in Late December
14. Chaka Khan – I Feel for You
15.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

