Tags

,

So if I’m to believe Wayne Barrett’s Daily Beast story about the collusion between Rudy Giuliani and vengeful FBI agents, and I see no reason why I shouldn’t, we have confirmation for the rest of us that a large section of the GOP elite will consider Hillary Clinton such an excrescence on the body politic that it will pursue any means to lock her up. I’m stating baldly and in a no-duh manner because we should brace for Clinton II, in which everything from a haircut to a phone call will be grounds for not just impeachment but putting her in jail.

An instructor of journalism who’s had to change with the times, I’ve taught students to keep an eye on the subtleties of attribution. When Brett Baier of FOX News credits “two separate sources with intimate knowledge of the FBI investigations into the Clinton emails and the Clinton Foundation” when claiming the investigation is “far more expansive” than meets the eye, I’d ask Baier if one of those sources with intimate knowledge is Rudy Giuliani himself. Reminds me of 1998 – the era Joan Didion called Vichy Washington – when members of Kenneth Starr’s independent counsel team leaked goodies that the media would later report as fact. That’s what we’re in for on Nov. 9, 2016.