Singles 9/23

A mediocre week, reliant on the star power of Tkay Maidza + Killer Mike and Butterfly’s interpolation of Robin S’s “Show Me Love.” Robert Christgau’s effusions over M.I.A.’s latest persuade me to give it a fifth listen, but I’m budging for only one thing: the last minute of “Freedun” sounds wistful and lovely in the car, where the beat works.

Tkay Maidza ft. Killer Mike – Carry On (7)
Dessa – Quinine (6)
Butterfly – Sorry for the Wait (6)
Joey Bada$$ – Devastated (6)
Jenny Hval – Conceptual Romance (5)
M.I.A. ft. Zayn – Freedun (5)
Puer Kim – Pearls (5)
Fabio Rovazzi – Andiamo a Comandare (5)
CL – Lifted (4)
Hank Solo – Söpö (4)
Ariana Grande ft. Nicki Minaj – Side to Side (4)
Local Natives – Fountain of Youth (3)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s