I see a shining new way: Best of 2010

I tampered with my Pazz and Jop ballot, which like anybody’s has stuff that amuses me. I haven’t played Curren$y or Big Boi since the Democrats lost the House, fine, but I don’t even remember the Usher-Minaj single I listed. Including Last Train to Paris compensates for worrying unduly about late December releases. One of the freshest and most sparkling of modern albums — a modern heir to Quincy Jones’ R&B revues — Last Train to Paris still elicits snorts when I mention it outside ILM circles. I included Debarge’s half excellent and overdue comeback, however aborted it was, sadly; “Heaven” dips and soars like it’s 1983, while “The Other Side’ and especially the title track show a ravaged soul that he never dared show (or hadn’t lived enough to show).

Taylor Swift – Speak Now
Vampire Weekend – Contra
Diddy Dirty Money – Last Train to Paris
Against Me! – White Crosses
LCD Soundsystem – This is Happening
Erykah Badu – New Amerykah Part Two: Return of the Ankh
The-Dream – Love King
Big Boi – Sir Lucious Left Foot, The Son of Chico Dusty
M.I.A. – Maya
R. Kelly – Love Letter
Jerrod Niemann – Judge Jerrod & the Hung Jury
Rick Ross – Teflon Don
No Age – Everything in Between
Merle Haggard – I Am What I Am
Curren$y – Pilot Talk II
Javiera Mena – Mena
Four Tet – There Is Love in You
El Debarge – Second Chance
Tracey Thorn – Love and Its Opposite
Robyn – Body Talk
Lindstrøm & Christabelle – Real Life Is No Cool
Jazmine Sullivan – Love Me Back
Nas & Damian “JR. Gong” Marley – Distant Relatives

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

