The distilled Soto

Because I seldom meet my readers, they’ve been kind enough over the years to ask on social media how I prepare the cocktails to which I allude so often. The following recipes offer meticulousness instead of originality. These are the liquors and instruments I stock at home; when I go out the ingredients and choices change. In other words, should you visit Soto Manse and ask for a Manhattan, this is how I’ll prepare it unless you inform me otherwise. For sophisticated palates, buy a copy of Everyday Drinking: The Distilled Kingsley Amis, as indispensable an appendage to the author of Lucky Jim, The Green Man, and The Old Devils as the journals of Virginia Woolf, Wallace Stevens’ letters, and Jake Gyllenhaal’s hair.

A few notes:

* A martini with vodka is a vodka martini and acceptable nomenclature. Ordering a “gin martini” is redundant, like ordering a “Coca-Cola soft drink,” requesting “a soft pillow,” or saying, “Let’s watch a bad Cate Blanchett movie.”

* Contrary to expectations, I limit home cocktail imbibing to Sundays and Thursdays, possibly Fridays if I stay in. Otherwise alcohol consumption consists of two to three glasses of a cabernet sauvignon, merlot, or shiraz.

* Rare is the afternoon or night that I’ll drink more than one martini—and never at home. I don’t recommend anyone drink more than one Manhattan or Old Fashioned. This indicates that you’ll insist on dessert, enthralling me with your monologues about dating trouble.

Gin and tonic:

Pour two fingers of Aviation or Bombay Sapphire gin over a dozen thumb-sized, three finger-sized, or one cube-sized piece of ice in long thin glass. Add one finger of Fever Tree tonic water. Stir gently. Squeeze a pinch of lemon.

Martini:

One and a half to two fingers of Hendrick’s or St. George gin into shaker half full of ice. Add a bottlecap’s worth of Cinzano or Tribuno Extra Dry vermouth. When feeling frisky, substitute St. Germain elderflower liquor. Depending on solidity of ice, shake; if less dense, stir. Pour into bone-chilling martini glass, stemmed or unstemmed (if not bone-chilling, let fresh ice sit in glass for a minute). Add lemon twist. If possible, change glasses as martini warms in enervating South Florida sunlight.

Manhattan:

Two fingers of Bulleit Rye or Basil Hayden’s Kentucky Straight bourbon whiskey into shaker half full of ice. Add a bottlecap’s worth of Cinzano or Tribuno sweet vermouth. Depending on taste for acerbity, add four to six drops of Angostura Aromatic Bitters or two drops of same and three drops of Bittermens Orange Cream Citrate. Pour into Schott Zwiesel or Schott Zwiesel-esque tumblers, although a stemless martini glass will do.

Negroni

I don’t keep Campari at home: I haven’t acquired the taste for its thin brackishness. I use Aperol, lighter on the alcohol content but a good sport with gin. Pour a finger or finger and a half into a shaker. Add a finger of Boodle’s Gin. A splash of Dolin vermouth. Stir furiously. You may add club soda if you like. Pour over large ice cube in glass. A delicate aperitif.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The distilled Soto

  1. I love the deets, A.S. , thank you. Wait–“bad Cate Blanchett movie”–WHAT?! Interested in your even more specific preference of Schott Z glass for your Manhattan. Picture please.
    Maybe it’s because I don’t drink often and only have one that it’s so important to me that the temperature of the drink remain consistent (chilled) throughout the time it takes me to consume it. I want to sip not guzzle. Is this too much to ask of a glass? Maybe I should just keep drinking and find the place where I don’t care. But I don’t keep drinking and I do care. Here’s where I’m going with this: I like my Manhattan to stay cold but not get watery from ice. I can’t afford the fancy ice maker that brings the X-L chiseled square that melts as slowly as a glacier in the early twentieth century. In pursuit of my ideal I may commit to a double-walled Bodum http://www.bodum.com/gb/en-us/shop/prodlist/51/ Anyone want to weigh in? (No styrofoam or plastic, please.) Will this work? Is global warming a factor here? “Twentieth Century” Now, there’s a movie.

Leave a Reply

